Duke of Edinburgh Awards

The Duke of Edinburgh (DofE) award is an internationally recognised personal development programme and is open to any young person from the aged 14 to 25 birthday.  There are three levels of achievement: Bronze, Silver and Gold, each containing aspects of:  

  • Learning new skills
  • Learning to engage in a healthy lifestyle
  • Committing time to help others in the community
  • Undertaking an adventurous journey as part of a team
  • Residential element (Gold level).

A young person can work through all three levels or can enter directly at any level as long as they fit the minimum age criteria. 

In East Dunbartonshire we now have six secondary schools delivering the DofE award and two Open Award Centres in Milngavie and Kirkintilloch (AOAC) to cater for other young people who have left school or whose school does not offer the scheme. The Milngavie AOAC also acts as an umbrella organisation for the Westerton Guides and the Milngavie Youth Café.

The participating schools are:

  • Bearsden Academy
  • Bishopbriggs Academy
  • Boclair Academy
  • Douglas Academy
  • Lenzie Academy
  • Turnbull High School.

Kirkintilloch AOAC is based within Hillhead Community Centre, 169 Meiklehill Road, Kirkintilloch G66 2JT.

Interest and demand for the award is growing year on year.  Most units within East Dunbartonshire have had to create a waiting list for the programme but please don’t let this put you off making enquiries.

Useful Links