UK Parliamentary General Election 2019

The residents of East Dunbartonshire contribute to the election of two Members of Parliament, for the East Dunbartonshire Constituency and the Cumbernauld, Kilsyth & Kirkintilloch East Constituency. 

The Returning Officers are:

Gerry Cornes, Chief Executive of East Dunbartonshire Council -  East Dunbartonshire Constituency 
Des Murray, Chief Executive of North Lanarkshire Council - Cumbernauld, Kilsyth & Kirkintilloch East

Notices, general information and the results of both constituencies will be displayed here over the next few weeks.

This page includes information on:

Election Results

The results of the East Dunbartonshire Parliamentary Constituency - declared by Returning Officer Gerry Cornes at 3.45am on Friday 13 December 2019:

Candidate Votes
Amy Callaghan - Scottish National Party (SNP)   19,672
Rosie Dickson - Independent        221
Pam Gosal - Scottish Conservative & Unionist           7,455
Donald Murdo MacKay - UK Independence Party (UKIP)         208
Liam McKechnie - Scottish Family Party - Putting Families First    197
Callum McNally - Scottish Labour Party            4,839
Carolynn Scrimgeour - Scottish Green Party            916
Jo Swinson - Scottish Liberal Democrats            19,523


Majority             149
Electorate   66,075
Turnout   53,111 (80.38%)
Rejected Papers    80 


Notice of Poll East Dunbartonshire 

Notice of Poll Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East

Notice of Election

An Election is to be held for a Member of Parliament to serve the East Dunbartonshire County Constituency.

Nomination papers can be obtained from the office of the Returning Officer, East Dunbartonshire Council, Marina Headquarters, 12 Strathkelvin Place, Kirkintilloch G66 1TJ, during the times stated below.

Nomination papers must be delivered to the Returning Officer at East Dunbartonshire Council, Marina Headquarters, 12 Strathkelvin Place, Kirkintilloch G66 1TJ on any day after the date of this notice, on Monday to Friday 10am to 4pm (excluding bank holidays) but no later than 4pm on 14 November 2019.  

If the election is contested the poll will take place on 12 December 2019.

Applications to register to vote must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by 12 midnight on 26 November 2019.

Applications, amendments or cancellations of postal votes must reach the Electoral Registration Officer, 235 Dumbarton Road, Clydebank G81 4XJ  by 5 p.m. on 26 November 2019.

The full notices are attached below.

East Dunbartonshire Constituency

Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East Constituency