Scottish Youth Parliament Election Results 2024

Thursday, 8 February, 2024

East Dunbartonshire has returned three newly elected Members to the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP). 

Emily Sneddon from Kirkintilloch High School and Rhys Kahlon Andrew from Woodland View School are the new MSYPs for the Strathkelvin and Bearsden constituency and Arianna Gagnon from Douglas Academy is the new MSYP for the Clydebank and Milngavie constituency.  

The declaration was made at an event in Kirkintilloch High School attended by the candidates, their friends and family, Council Leader, Gordan Low and other elected members.  

For the last two weeks young people across Scotland have been making their voices heard by voting for their chosen candidates via the Young Scot website. All young people aged 12 to 25 years who live or receive an education in East Dunbartonshire were eligible to vote. 

Councillor Low said, “Congratulations to Emily, Rhys and Arianna on their success and congratulations to all candidates for the hard work they have put in over the last few months to run professional, good-natured and respectful campaigns. Having the voices of our children and young people heard is so important and I am grateful to everyone who stood for election. 

“The Scottish Youth Parliament is the democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people and after tonight it will be filled with new members, keen to make their mark. And three of them will be there to represent East Dunbartonshire. 

“The Council values the work of the Youth Council and MSYPs and the input they have into the decisions that we take. There are so many issues that affect young people directly and where their views are vital. 

“For example, MSYPs have done a great job in raising awareness around the issue of disposable vapes. We are hearing right now about how that particular conversation is gaining traction and that change is imminent - a tangible demonstration of how important it is that we listen to the views and experiences of our young people and how their views can make a real difference. 

“I'm looking forward to meeting and working with the newly elected members to tackle the topics that matter to them. 

“My thanks to everyone who organised this election – to our schools, our young people and Youth Services staff.” 

Emily standing beside a wall

Emily Sneddon, MSYP for Strathkelvin and Bearsden, said, “I am looking forward to making changes in the local area, seeing what young people think and what I can do to help. It feels good to officially be an MSYP for East Dunbartonshire Council and I can’t wait to get started.” 

RHYS standing beside wall

Rhys Kahlon Andrew, MSYP for Strathkelvin and Bearsden, said, “I am looking forward to the experience of being an MSYP and getting to be involved in raising awareness of youth voice in my local area. I’m excited to meet new people and form new friendships.”  

arianna standing beside a wall

Arianna Gagnon, MSYP for Clydebank and Milngavie, said, “I am really excited and grateful for the opportunity to be an MSYP for East Dunbartonshire Council. I am really looking forward to contributing to change for young people in Scotland. I would like to thank everyone who has supported me during the election process.” 

The candidates who stood for the Strathkelvin and Bearsden Constituency were: 

The candidates who stood for the Clydebank and Milngavie constituency were: