Political composition

Council administration

Since May 2022 East Dunbartonshire Council has had a minority administration made up of 8 Scottish National Party members.

On this page you will find information on:

Political Parties - May 2022

  • Scottish National Party (SNP) - 8 Members
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats - 5 Members
  • Scottish Labour Party - 4 Members
  • Scottish Conservatives - 2 Members
  • Independent/Other - 3 Members

Political Parties - May 2017

East Dunbartonshire Council had a minority administration made up of 7 Scottish National Party members. In December 2017, the SNP Administration resigned from office and in March 2018 a new Joint Administration was formed by the Conservatives and Liberal Democrats.

  • Scottish Labour Party - 2 Members
  • Scottish National Party (SNP) - 7 Members
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats - 6 Members
  • Scottish Conservatives - 6 Members
  • Independents - 1 Members

Political Parties - September 2012

East Dunbartonshire Council has a majority coalition administration made up of Scottish Labour, Scottish Liberal Democrats and Scottish Conservatives.

  • Scottish Labour Party - 9 Members
  • Scottish National Party (SNP) - 8 Members
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats - 3 Members
  • Scottish Conservatives - 2 Members
  • Independents - 2 Members


Local Government By-Election - 13 September 2012

On 13 September 2012, the Council held a By-election in Ward 4 - Campsie and Kirkintilloch North following the passing of Councillor Charles Kennedy in July.  The By-Election resulted in Gemma Welsh, Scottish Labour Party being elected as a Councillor for Ward 4.  As a result the existing majority coalition was increased by one to nine Labour members, three Liberal Democrats and two Conservatives.

Party De-Registration

Following a request by the party, the Electoral Commission de-registered the East Dunbartonshire Independent Alliance from the list of political parties. Councillor Young joins Councillor Cumming as an Independent member on the Council.


Local Government Elections - 3 May 2012

Following the Local Government Elections of 3 May 2012 the political composition of East Dunbartonshire Council is as follows


Political Composition 2007 - April 2012

During 2009 East Dunbartonshire Council held two By-Elections following the death of former Provost Hannah (Lab) and the resignation of Councillor Hutchison (Cons). The results of the by-election changed the political composition of the Council with Councillors Moir (Lab) and Ghai (Lib Dem) being elected in June and December 2009, respectively.

East Dunbartonshire Council - Political Composition - 2010


East Dunbartonshire Council - Political Composition 2007

Following the results of the Local Government Elections held on 3 May 2007, the Council now has the following parties represented on the Council. The details for each Ward are shown below including the STV election result for each ward:

Ward 1

Ward 2

Ward 3

Ward 4

Ward 5

Ward 6

Ward 7

Ward 8

Cllr Binks

Cllr Cumming

Cllr Douglas

Cllr Dempsey

Cllr Hendry

Cllr Hannah

Cllr Geekie

Cllr Jamieson

Cllr Gibbons


Cllr Hutchison

Cllr Kennedy

Cllr McNair


Cllr Jarvis

Cllr MacDonald