Technical Notes 2021, Issue 21 - Transition Arrangements - New ASN School

Report by: 
Ann Davie, Depute Chief Executive – Education, People & Business
TN Number: 
Transition Arrangements - New ASN School
Responsible Officer: 
Jacqui MacDonald, Chief Education Officer
This Technical Note will be published on the Council’s website following circulation to Member. Its contents may be disclosed or shared outwith the Council.
The new ASN school is scheduled to open in 2023. The transition will require to be carefully managed, both for the children and young people, and for staff and parents.
The Council has decided, in consultation with the Parent Councils of both Campsie View and Merkland, to second Kay Hunter to manage this transition. Ms Hunter will be seconded to the post of the Interim Head of the New ASN School. Her remit would be to lead the transition to the new school. Both schools will work closely together over the next two school sessions on all aspects of provision, curriculum, learning and teaching approaches, and support planning. Ms Hunter will work as part of the Senior Management Teams in Merkland and Campsie View to lead School Improvement Planning as part of the transition.
Anna Lewis, Head Teacher of Campsie View School, has intimated her decision to retire in June. This means that both Merkland and Campsie View Schools will require an Acting Head of School/Head Teacher to be appointed on a temporary 23-month contract.
The role of the Acting Head of School/Head Teacher will be to lead and manage the school ensuring effective operational management on a day-to-day basis. The Acting Head of School/Head Teacher will work with the Interim Head of the New School on strategic planning and school improvement.
The recruitment of the Acting Head of School in Merkland and Campsie View will be progressed within the next few weeks, in advance of the new school session in August. The post of the Head Teacher of the new ASN school will be advertised in due course, with the full involvement of the Interim Parent Council in the recruitment process.
Distribution List: 
All Elected Members Corporate Management Team Executive Officers HSCP Management Team Corporate Communications