Strategic Development Plan

East Dunbartonshire is part of the Glasgow City Region, which covers a third of Scotland’s population and generates a third of its economic wealth. In 2008, the Scottish Government established Strategic Development Planning Authorities for each of Scotland’s four city regions. The Glasgow and the Clyde Valley Strategic Development Planning Authority (known as ‘Clydeplan’) comprises the eight local authorities of East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire and West Dunbartonshire Councils. The principal role of Clydeplan is to prepare and maintain an up to date Strategic Development Plan (SDP) for the Glasgow city region. This process involves engagement through joint working and consultation with a number of stakeholder organisations and the wider community.

The current SDP (July 2017) was approved by Scottish Ministers on 24th July 2017 and sets out a clear vision and spatial strategy for their area. SDPs focus on the major land use and development issues that cross the planning authority boundaries. It is based around the four planning outcomes contained in National Planning Framework 3 namely, a Successful and Sustainable Place, a Low Carbon Place, a Natural, Resilient Place, and a Connected Place. East Dunbartonshire Council is required to contribute towards the delivery of the SDP strategy through its Local Development Plan and in the assessment of planning applications.

You can find out more about Clydeplan and the Strategic Development Plan process on the Clydeplan website.