Local heroes enjoy Tea with the Provost


Tuesday, 7 August, 2018


Local heroes from across East Dunbartonshire have been recognised for the positive impact they have made in their communities.

Provost Alan Brown hosted his first Tea with the Provost at Lairdsland Primary School, where residents enjoyed afternoon tea, joined by a number of local Councillors.

East Dunbartonshire Councillors were asked to nominate people who had gone the extra mile, whether through their exceptional voluntary work, charity work or an outstanding career. In total, 27 people were recognised, with each receiving certificates for their achievements.

Provost Alan Brown said, “It was a privilege to host this special afternoon tea to recognise the East Dunbartonshire residents who contribute so much to our local towns and villages.  Our local Councillors nominated these exceptional people who have made a real difference to the lives of others.  Between them they have put in thousands of hours of voluntary work, raised lots of money for charity and provided vital services and support for people in need.”

He continued, “This afternoon tea was just a small way in which we can offer our thanks for their hard work and commitment and I hope each and every guest realises just how much we appreciate their contribution.”




Nominated by Provost Brown


Liz Ross

Local Court Justice of the Peace for 26 years

Morag Stewart

For her work with the Salvation Army

Donna Anderson

For her work with Auchinairn Community Centre & Auchinairn Community Enterprise

Lynn Halcrow

For her work with Auchinairn Community Centre & Auchinairn Community Enterprise

Nominated by Councillor Thornton


Tom Gray

For his work as Secretary, Lenzie Community Council

Tony Miles

Chairman – Lenzie Community Council

Nominated by Depute Provost Pews


Patricia Marwick

Senior Girl Guide Official at National Level and voluntary work at Cadder Coffee Shop

Jamie McGuire

Chair of Milton of Campsie, Community Council & work in Community Village Hall

Nominated by Councillor Murray


Margaret Scott

Actively involved with peer support within GRACE

Jennifer Ramsay

Actively involved with peer support within GRACE

Nominated by Councillor Gibbons


Hugh Livingston

Services to making Milngavie a better place to live in

Frances Livingston

Services to making Milngavie a better place to live in

Nominated by Councillor O’Neil


Dr Janice Kennedy

For 12 years’ service with Burnbrae Resident's Association and for establishing and running the Catflap charity for 21 years

Nominated by Councillor Low


Alison Little

For working with the local community through Bishopbriggs Churches together

Pamela Munro

For improving safety of children and providing relief to families of children who have passed away in tragic circumstances

Sharif Shafiq

For promoting religious education and recreational facilities for the Muslim community

Deborah Robertson

For voluntary work within the guide dog organisation and with Glasgow City Roller fundraising group

Nominated by Councillor Ferretti


Audrey Langslow

For improving the locality via the Lennoxtown Project Group

Ivor McClure

For organising community events and litter picking

Nominated by Councillor McGinnigle


Robert Blackburn

For his organisation of battlefield trips to honour our war heroes and for his work with youth groups and Care in the Community

Nominated by Councillor Mechan


Victor Budas

Vice President, Burnbrae Residents Association

Maureen Budas

Burnbrae Residents Association

Nominated by Councillor Goodall


Liz MacDonald

For her work with Milngavie Refugee Action Group

Andrea Brogan

For her work with Milngavie Refugee Action Group

Jean Pentland

For her work with the Elderly Community in Milngavie

Nominated by Councillor Moody


Gaynor Bilton

Convener of Killermont Primary Parent Council

Chris Allen

Convener of Boclair Academy Parent Council


Follow us on Twitter @EDCouncil or like us at www.facebook.com/edunbartonshirecouncil