Active travel reaches new heights at Meadowburn thanks to project


Monday, 18 December, 2017

People of all ages and abilities are now able to use a popular route - and take steps towards active lifestyles - thanks to access works in Bishopbriggs.

The Meadowburn Steps Improvement Project has been completed and officially opened - creating a new Equality Act-compliant link between Meadowburn and Teviot Avenue.

The two areas were previously connected by steps - which were the subject of complaints due to their deteriorating condition and lack of access for people with prams, bikes, scooters and mobility issues.

Meadowburn and Teviot Avenue are now linked by new steps and a 'ramp-and-rest' system thanks to the project - funded externally by Sustrans, Transport Scotland, developer contributions and an Air Quality Management Grant. Improved energy-efficient lighting has also been installed.

Councillor Jim Gibbons, Convener of the Place, Neighbourhood & Corporate Assets Committee, said, "This is good news for people of all ages and abilities.

"Children will now find it easier to walk, cycle and scoot to school, while parents with prams and buggies will find moving through the area considerably easier. Older residents and those with mobility issues will also benefit from the improved infrastructure.

"I'm pleased we were able to access funding to address concerns raised by residents who felt that the old steps were in a poor condition and excluded less-able users from taking advantage of the shortcut between Meadowburn and Teviot Avenue."

The project - which is close to Meadowburn Primary School - complements the Council's Active Travel Strategy 2015-2020, which aims to make walking and cycling for everyday journeys a convenient, viable and safe choice for all.

Works were carried out by RJ McLeod and designed by WSP

The Scottish Government’s vision is that 10% of everyday journeys will be made by bike by 2020.

Pictured (from left): Cllr Jim Gibbons, Convener of Place, Neighbourhood & Corporate Assets, local councillors Gary Pews, Paul Ferretti and Mohrag Fischer, and Alistair Kyle, Resource Generation Officer.

Follow us on Twitter @EDCouncil or like us on Facebook for the latest updates.